TAP-LargeApplication-FullColor-200px.png

替代項目聲明

社會轉型的教育正義:

行動框架

我們(以下簽名者)相信,當前的社會,經濟,政治和教育安排再現了造成深遠的不平等並最終威脅地球生命的權力關係。我們主張替代教學法和公正的再生教育體系,這些體係將支持我們需要的社會變革,以創建一個更豐富,更公平和可持續的世界。

並存且相互關聯的全球危機正在將人類和生存星球推向政治,社會,經濟和生態崩潰。這些危機(目前在全球冠狀病毒大流行,結構性不平等,警察的殘暴和種族主義,父權制根深蒂固,氣候混亂以及不斷的戰爭威脅中可見一斑)在全球範圍內受到資本主義和軍國主義的驅使。我們必須抓住這一獨特的歷史時刻,重新構想並從根本上改變公共教育,將其作為更深層變革的切入點,這將建立人類團結與合作,並終結種族主義,父權制和資本主義。我們拒絕接受以下觀點:教育的優先重點是建立“人力資本”。我們認為,教育的優先重點應包括可再生的生態系統以及對今世後代的進一步社會正義。這就要求建立公正的教育制度,只有在所有其他領域,特別是經濟和政治領域,為爭取社會變革而進行的更廣泛鬥爭的一部分,我們才能實現這一目標。

為了形成新的社會契約,必須進行漸進式的鬥爭,這些契約服務於許多人的集體利益,而不是少數人的自身利益。人類歷史反映了一系列由權力關係塑造的複雜而相互聯繫的社會轉型:從農業主義到工業化,通過殖民地征服,專制獨裁政權,後殖民主義,新自由主義全球化,以及數字革命和監視資本主義與我們所看到的國家安全國家之間的勾結今天。每個新的統治階級都會產生一種意識形態,這種意識形態會延續其統治地位,證明其一成不變地造成的不平等,並加劇悲觀主義,認為變革根本是可能的。這些意識形態霸權幾乎總是涉及並建立教育體系,以加強等級假設和嚴格的二元觀念–人類/非人類,男性/女性,思想/身體,世俗/精神,上等/下等,城市/農村,我們/他們-擁有征服和開發自然世界及所有生物的權利。全球化後,當代威權主義,本土主義,重男輕女和定居殖民主義的民粹主義在世界範圍內湧現,衝突和氣候變化導致的移民增加,加劇了這些二元對立,並激起了社會不安全感,從而加緊了他們的控制。

如今,世界各地的教育體係都建立在新自由主義資本主義的思想觀念和效率,回報率,選擇,競爭和經濟增長的觀念中。這種意識形態為富裕的跨國公司和億萬富翁提供了重塑世界經濟和國家政治體系的無限權力,使以碳為基礎的採掘活動持續存在,並導致消費不受限制和生態系統的嚴重退化。以這種方式組織起來的教育系統有助於加強國家內部和國家之間的社會不平等,種族隔離和分層並使之合法化。然而,儘管它反映了當時的霸權主義,但教育還是爭奪戰的關鍵所在。威權國家充分認識到教育可以成為變革的力量,因此迅速採取行動,將其作為確保遵守和控制的工具。

因此,對於許多兒童和年輕人來說,這個世界是一片淒涼。他們所接受的教育質量越來越受到其家庭的社會經濟地位和地理位置的影響。教育日益在競爭激烈的市場中組織起來,這些市場創造並加強了種族,階級和性別不平等現象,私人提供者和承包商以及老師和學生在成本效率和標準化考試之間進行競爭,並在其中排名靠前:限制公共預算,重點放在結果基準,人力資本形成,經濟回報率和物有所值。這種模式加強了人類的例外主義,種族偏見和白人至高無上的地位,對差異的den貶,經濟和政治不平等的合法化,超個人主義,不加限制的經濟增長,對廣告言論的不加批判的接受以及對獨裁統治的遵守。一個後果是一種奇怪的矛盾,即人類歷史上受過最廣泛教育的人口正在集體觸發生命星球系統的生態崩潰,這是集體自殺和滅絕種族的行為。

在過去的30年中,民間社會和教育聯盟的持續倡導使世界擁抱了受教育權和全民教育的願望:義務教育已達到前所未有的規模,每天有近20億兒童參加​​。現在,大多數家庭認為完成8至12年的教育對於他們的孩子的未來至關重要,而大多數政府則認為向所有兒童和青少年提供免費的公共教育是健全的公共政策。但是,我們離實現這一目標還遙遙無期。在過去的四十年中,市場原教旨主義導致的更大範圍的結構性不公正,在一定程度上導致了社會部門持續的支出不足,並將所有政府活動貶為“無效”和“浪費”。因此,教育資金嚴重不足,各國政府以及雙邊和多邊國際組織需要提供更多資金,而且有可能提供更多資金。

不是說沒有錢,而是沒有錢。政府總是會花錢在軍事,警察,安全和監視以及企業福利上。為了對抗這種意識形態,我們必須揭露稀缺性是一種神話,而緊縮性則是一種刻意推動新自由主義私有化議程的政策選擇。

儘管教育支出目標反映了全球共識,但大多數政府甚至沒有實現將20%預算和6%GDP用於教育的目標。國際社會幾十年來已承諾將其國內生產總值的0.7%用於官方發展援助,但只分配其中的一小部分。所有這些目標大大低估了需求。

我們需要在公共領域贏得這些爭論。問題不僅僅在於資金。國際金融機構,例如國際貨幣基金組織和世界銀行,是在世界範圍內推廣新自由主義,所謂的華盛頓共識政策的新殖民主義機構。基金組織和世界銀行在影響教育(和其他社會)政策方面發揮了重要作用。國際貨幣基金組織沒有支持教育,而是實際上限制了國家在僱用教師和其他公共部門工作者方面的支出。世界銀行自稱是基於研究的客觀建議來源,但在過去的40年中,其建議基於其新自由主義意識形態。現在是召開新的布雷頓森林會議的時候了,考慮對國際貨幣基金組織和世行進行重大改革。

我們呼籲進行根本性的改變。所有政府都必須建立從幼儿期到高等教育的免費公共教育,這將對我們在世界上的思維和行為方式進行批判性,參與性,民主性的重新評估。為了實現人權教育,需要有充分資金的公共系統,並通過國際和國內無條件援助,通過國家和全球累進,再分配稅制可持續地提供資金。該課程應該積極拒絕溫順的消費者同謀,助長全球變暖和氣候災難。植根於社區的教育必須與文化相關,並促進反種族主義,反性別主義,團結,社會凝聚力,同理心,想像力,創造力,個人成就感,和平,生態意識的管理和加強民主的人文價值。教師需要專業自主權,優質的工作條件,並需要通過工會和其他組織在決策中發揮重要作用。同樣,學生及其代表組織還必須在政治和教學決策中表達自己的意見,並充分承認其參與權。

世界需要對教育進行徹底的修訂,這將有助於變革和創建再生社會。這將需要一個新的社會合同,該合同要重視社會支出,而不是軍事支出和安全支出,並且要超出商業部門,教育技術公司,私立學校鍊和其他教育商業參與者的狹interests利益。我們呼籲扭轉向教育和其他社會服務私有化的方向發展,並使商業邏輯脫離教育和社會政策制定範圍。

我們取而代之的是從有組織的學生和老師,整個工會運動,基於民主的社區組織(包括少數群體,移民和難民協會)以及獨立媒體,組織和專業人員中分享我們的承諾的經驗教訓在我們所生活的有缺陷的真實社會中促進正義。這些團體已經開發出教育正義的替代方案,包括支持21世紀社會主義,土著和黑人主權,殖民主義,黑人生活,廢奴主義和批判教學法的學校和非正規教育計劃。

教育中的正義取決於在四個領域中推進與正義相關的目標:

1.社會正義–建立公平,轉型和再生生活的教育。

教育系統需要調整方向,以解決其社會中的不平等和不公正現象,促進種族,性別和殘疾正義,並採用包容性模式來教授如何集體工作並推動教育和社會轉型。

2.氣候正義–學習如何在地球上再生生活

我們需要全球綠色新政和公共教育系統,以教授人類生態學和管理價值,以促進現在和將來的這種轉變。

3.經濟正義–轉型經濟中的教育和其他公共服務融資

經濟制度必須通過關注公平和機會而不是利潤來滿足所有人的實際需求。這種流行病必須標誌著從資本主義向工作場所民主的根本轉變,以及從根本上重新分配經濟的根本性轉變,該經濟優先考慮在全國和全球範圍內為所有人提供累進稅和累進公共服務支出。

4.政治正義–重建各級政治參與

我們需要擺脫專制主義和仇外民族主義。我們必須激發全球團結,促進國際合作,並加強全球相交的基層運動。我們需要在地方,國家和全球各級建立更具包容性和參與性的民主國家。

這些最初的想法並不意味著遙遠的烏托邦海市rage樓。相反,它們建立在世界上許多進步團體和組織的思想和行動的基礎上。簽名的我們認為,這些觀念對教育和社會進行徹底的重新構想,是應對和克服地球面臨的嚴峻危機的必要方向。

英文PDF

TAP-LargeApplication-FullColor-200px.png

The Alternatives Project Statement

 

Education Justice for Societal Transformation:

A Framework for Action

 

 

We, the undersigned, believe that current social, economic, political, and educational arrangements reproduce relations of power that engineer profound inequities and will ultimately threaten life on the planet. We stand for alternative pedagogies and for just, regenerative education systems that will support the social transformations we need in order to create a richer, more equitable, and sustainable world.  

Co-existing and inter-related global crises are pushing humanity and the living planet towards political, social, economic, and ecological collapse. These crises – currently seen in the worldwide coronavirus pandemic, structural inequalities, police brutality and racism, entrenched patriarchy, accelerating climate chaos, and the constant threat of wars – are driven globally by capitalism and militarism. We must seize this unique historical moment to reconceive and radically change public education as an entry point for deeper transformations that will build human solidarity and cooperation and bring an end to racism, patriarchy, and capitalism. We reject the notion that education’s priority is to build ‘human capital’; we assert that education’s priorities should include regenerative ecosystems and further social justice for current and future generations. This requires the creation of just education systems, which we can only achieve as a part of a broader struggle for social transformation in all other spheres, especially the economy and in politics.

 

Progressive struggles are necessary to form new social contracts that serve the collective interests of the many rather than the self-interests of the few. Human history reflects a series of complex and interlinked social transitions shaped by power relations: from agrarianism to industrialization, through colonial conquest, authoritarian dictatorships, post colonialism, neoliberal globalization, and the digital revolutions and collusion between surveillance capitalism and the national security state we see today. Each new dominant class produces an ideology that perpetuates its domination, justifies the inequalities it invariably creates, and fosters pessimism that change is possible at all. These ideological hegemonies almost always involve adherence to, and create education systems that reinforce, hierarchical assumptions and rigid binary conceptions – human/non-human, male/female, mind/body, secular/spiritual, superior/inferior, urban/rural, us/them – that assume the right of conquest and to exploit the natural world and all living species. The contemporary authoritarian, nativist, patriarchal, and settler-colonial populisms emerging worldwide in the wake of globalization and the increased migrations due to conflict and climate change sharpen these binary oppositions and provoke social insecurities to tighten their grip. 

Today, education systems around the world are forged in the mindset of neoliberal capitalism and ideas of efficiency, rate of return, choice, competition, and economic growth. This ideology affords wealthy supranational corporations and billionaires unbridled power to reshape the global economy and national political systems, perpetuating extractive, carbon-based, economic activity and resulting in unconstrained consumption and the critical degradation of ecosystems. Organized in this way, education systems serve to reinforce and legitimize social inequality, segregation, and stratification within and across nations. Yet, as much as it reflects prevailing hegemonies, education is also a pivotal site of contestation. Authoritarian states, knowing full well that education can be a force for transformation, move swiftly to wield it as a tool for ensuring compliance and control. 

 

Consequently, for many children and young people, this world is bleak. The quality of education that they receive is increasingly segmented by the socio-economic status and geographic location of their families. Education is increasingly organized in competitive markets that create and entrench race, class, and gender inequities where private providers and contractors, as well as teachers and students compete by, and are ranked on, cost efficiency and standardized tests: a commodified education model delivered via constrained public budgets, focusing on outcome benchmarks, human capital formation, and economic rate of return and value-for-money. This model reinforces human exceptionalism, racial prejudice and white supremacy, denigration of difference, legitimation of economic and political inequalities, hyper-individualism, unbridled economic growth, an uncritical reception of advertising rhetoric and compliance with authoritarian rule. One consequence is the bizarre contradiction that the most widely educated population in human history is collectively triggering the eco-collapse of the living planet’s systems, an act of collective suicide and ecocide.

 

Over the last thirty years, sustained advocacy by civil society and education unions moved the world to embrace the right to education and the aspiration of Education For All: compulsory schooling has expanded to unprecedented levels of scale – engaging nearly two billion children each day. Most families now assume that completing 8 to 12 years of schooling is essential for the future of their children and most governments assume that providing free public education to all children and youth is sound public policy. But we are nowhere near achieving this. In part, wider structural injustices caused by the past four decades of market fundamentalism have driven sustained social-sector underspending and disparaged all government activity as “ineffectual” and “wasteful.” Consequently, the financing of education has been woefully inadequate, and much more funding is required and is possible, from national governments as well as bilateral and multilateral international organizations. 

 

It’s not that there is no money; governments always find money to spend on the military, the police, security and surveillance, and corporate welfare. To confront this ideology, we must expose scarcity as a myth and austerity as a deliberate policy choice to drive the agenda for neoliberal privatization.

 

While spending targets on education reflect a global consensus, most governments do not even meet the target of spending 20% of their budgets and 6% of their GDP on education. The international community has promised for decades to spend 0.7% of their GDP on Official Development Assistance, yet allocates only a fraction of this. And all of these targets greatly underestimate the need. 

 

We need to win these arguments in the public sphere. The problem goes beyond funding. International financial institutions -- such as the IMF  and the World Bank -- are neocolonial institutions promoting neoliberal, so-called Washington Consensus policies throughout the world. The IMF and the World Bank have had a major role in influencing education (and other social) policy. Instead of supporting education, the IMF actually restricts country spending on hiring teachers and other public sector workers. The World Bank pretends to be a research-based source of objective advice, but for the last four decades has based its recommendations on its neoliberal ideology. It is high time for a new Bretton Woods conference to consider a major overhaul of the IMF and the Bank. 

 

We call for radical change. All governments must establish free public education from early childhood through higher education that will enable a critical, participatory, democratic reevaluation of how we think and act together in the world. To deliver education as a human right requires fully funded public systems, sustainably financed through national and global progressive, redistributive tax systems, with unconditional assistance from the international community. The curriculum should actively reject the docile consumer complicity that feeds global warming and climate catastrophe. Rooted in the community, education must be culturally relevant and promote humanistic values of anti-racism, anti-sexism, solidarity, social cohesion, empathy, imagination, creativity, personal fulfillment, peace, eco-minded stewardship, and strengthening of democracy. Teachers need professional autonomy, quality working conditions, and, through unions and other organizations, a major voice in policy-making. Likewise, students and their representative organizations must also have a voice in political and pedagogical decision making, having their right to participation fully acknowledged.

 

The world needs a radical revisioning of education that will help to transform and create regenerative societies. This will require a new social contract that values social spending above military and security spending and goes beyond the narrow interests of the business sector, Edtech firms, private school chains, and other edu-business actors. We call for reversing the movement towards the privatization of education and other social services and keeping business logic out of education and social policymaking.

 

We instead draw on struggles and lessons from organised students and teachers, the trade union movement as a whole, democratic community-based organisations - including associations of minorities, migrants and refugees - as well as independent media, organisations, and professionals that share our commitment to advancing justice in the flawed, real societies in which we live. These groups have already developed alternatives for educational justice, including schools and non-formal education programs that support 21st century socialist, indigenous and black sovereignty, decolonialism, Black Lives Matter, abolitionist, and critical pedagogies.

 

Justice in education depends on advancing justice-related goals in four areas: 

1. Social justice – Building education for equity, transformation, and regenerative living.

Education systems need to reorient towards addressing the inequalities and injustices in their societies, fostering racial, gender, and disability justice, and models of inclusion that will teach how to work collectively and drive the transformation of education and society. 

2. Climate justice – Learning how we can live regeneratively on the planet

We need a Global Green New Deal and public education systems that teach human ecology and stewardship values that will facilitate this transformation both now and in the future.

 

3. Economic justice – Financing education and other public services in a transformed economy

The economic system must satisfy the real needs of all people by focusing on equity and opportunity, not profit. This pandemic must mark a fundamental shift away from capitalism and towards workplace democracy and a radically redistributive economy that prioritizes progressive tax and progressive spending on public services for all, nationally and globally. 

4. Political justice – Reframing political engagement at all levels

We need to move away from authoritarianism and xenophobic nationalism. We must energize global solidarity, cultivate international cooperation, and strengthen global intersectional grassroots movements. We need to develop more inclusive and participatory democracies at local, national, and global levels.

 

These initial ideas do not point to a distant, utopian mirage; rather they build upon the thoughts and actions of many progressive groups and organizations around the world. We, the undersigned, see these ideas for a radical re-envisioning of education and society as necessary directions to counter and overcome the severe crises the planet is facing. 

PDF in English